Creedence Online Forum

Creedence Online Forum (http://www.creedence-online.net/forum/index.php)
-   Main (http://www.creedence-online.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   question for college paper (http://www.creedence-online.net/forum/showthread.php?t=798)

rohmer22 19.04.2010 15:42

question for college paper

Hey guys, first off Ill admit that I am relatively new to CCR and have only heard a few of their songs. Anyway, I am doing a college paper on the song "Fortunate Sons" and would like to ask a few questions about it. Mainly, I have noticed that the song is frequently mistaken for a patriotic anthem. Do you guys have any thoughts as to why this is? Also, I would like more general thoughts on the song as well, both about other ways it has been absorbed into modern culture and how it was relevant to the protest movement, both then and today. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Voyeur 19.04.2010 20:03

I suppose someone could view [I]Fortunate Son[/I] as patriotic in that it speaks for people who aren't born in a position of power and influence (money, politics, military leaders), which is most Americans.

So in that respect, it's probably one of the great blue collar songs.

But, ultimately, [I]Fortunate Son[/I] is a protest song. And protesting is one of our great rights which can be viewed as patriotic as well.

nerdistmonk 13.06.2010 14:24

[quote=Voyeur;3553]I suppose someone could view [I]Fortunate Son[/I] as patriotic in that it speaks for people who aren't born in a position of power and influence (money, politics, military leaders), which is most Americans.

So in that respect, it's probably one of the great blue collar songs.

But, ultimately, [I]Fortunate Son[/I] is a protest song. And protesting is one of our great rights which can be viewed as patriotic as well.[/quote]

John Fogerty, politically speaking has flipped more times than a $2 bill in the wind....